Casper’s Sunburn

Image

When I was little my family used to call me Casper since my version of a tan was everyone else’s version of winter-white. I often joke that I’m translucent and blue since my skin would easily blind Snow White. So it’s no surprise that while on vacation earlier this week, I received a nasty, second-degree sunburn on my forehead and cheeks. I had hastily applied a drug-store, spray sunscreen that had failed to cover my fair skin and was too busy enjoying the rare sunshine (hey – I’m in Syracuse, NY 80% of the year!) to worry about reapplying.

As a result, I have vowed to never attempt to tan my face again. 

I spent the better part of the morning looking for American made sunscreens to add to my arsenal for war against the sun. I have always been a fan of Kiehl’s lotions and was excited to find they carry an SPF 50 sunscreen. Activated Sun Protector Sunscreen promises to block 98% of harmful rays and lasts for 80 minutes of swimming. 

And since the likelihood of me avoiding another burn is about the same as me achieving a golden tan, I checked out a few after burn solutions too.

Burt’s Bees Aloe and Linden Flower After Sun Soother will cool and re-hydrated skin that has been beaten by the sun. The company has been manufacturing 100% natural products in North Carolina and has become a staple in so many American households.

From now on, I’ll be slathering up with products from these two American-made companies before I hit the beach.

Leave a comment